Undergraduate Inclusivity & Expansion Fellowship

This fellowship provides funding to support promising undergraduates interested in learning the tools and techniques of data science, political science research, and political science methods to help develop a new generation of political science scholars. This highly-competitive fellowship provides a year-long program for each winner that consists of the opportunity to engage in free summer quantitative social science training at the ICPSR Summer Program at the University of Michigan, which has served the social science community for decades, educating thousands of students and advanced scholars from around the world. The fellowship also includes participation in an online affinity community with other students across the United States who share a common interest in political methodology, network with political methodologists around the world, and participate in a research project in consultation with a faculty mentor. The program is particularly designed for students interested in applying to graduate programs in political methodology. 

This fellowship is made possible with the support of the National Science Foundation and individual faculty support. 

2020 Winners
Alesha E Lewis Southwestern University
Kyla Denwood Tulane University
Guadalupe Ruiz Purdue University West Lafayette
Daniel Thomas Davidson College
Charmine Osore Washington University in St.Louis
Adrian Hernandez University of California - Riverside
Alex Charles Princeton University
Franshelly Marie Martínez Ortíz University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras
Brenda Castaneda University of Chicago
Marissa Rivera Michigan State University
Maya Srikanth California Institute of Technology (Caltech)
Jennifer Guerrero University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Ashley Hernandez Estrada William & Mary
Natalie Lauren Jones Iowa State University
Jessica Angel University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Kamilah Valentin Diaz Purdue University
Jesus Galvan Arizona State University
Angitha Bright University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Genevieve Xia Ye Slosberg University of California, Berkeley
Zenaida Huerta Claremont McKenna College

Program Committee

  • Michelle Dion (McMaster University)
  • Clayton Webb (University of Kansas)
  • Adam Enders (University of Louisville)
  • Dean Lacy (Dartmouth College)
  • Paul Gronke (Reed College)
  • Suzanna Linn (Penn State University)
  • Betsy Sinclair (Washington University in St. Louis)